Ménage à Trois: The NBA’s Love Triangle

Who Gets My Rose for Favorites of the 2012-13 NBA Season?

Don’t worry, my loyal readers, this isn’t some kind of actual weird love triangle with NBA players, where Chic-Fil-A fans will burst into my house and ‘teach me a lesson’.  Instead, this ‘Love Triangle’ in the NBA is the top three teams trying to win my affection and eventual choice as the favorites going into the NBA season a couple months away.

Those three teams are, of course, the defending NBA Champions the Miami LeBrons Heat, the Oklahoma City Thunder, and after stealing Dwight Howard away from the Orlando Magic, the Los Angeles Lakers.

Think of it like the Bachelorette finale (shameless way of getting girls attention to keep reading), I went on three different dates and met the players and the families a.k.a. the Front Office’s of the three teams, but who did I give my final rose to?

Seeing as I’m getting older, I wanted to feel young again so my first encounter was with the Oklahoma City Thunder.  They took me out to the only bar in Oklahoma City and tried liquoring me up to get me to give it up. (It being the rose, get your mind out of the gutter!). I enjoyed my time with them, they have a young nucleus with Kevin Durant, turns 24 next month, Russell Westbrook, turns 24 a month into the season, and James Harden, turns 23 this month.  Durant is the biggest mismatch in the NBA standing at 6’11 as small foward, or the 3, and has in the gym range.  The Thunder were the favorites after defeating the Spurs in the Western Conference Championship, but got caught up by their lack of experience and LeBron realizing he’s the best player since Michael Jordan, and evolving like he’s a Pokemon character.  But with this team getting older, more mature, and simply getting better they made a strong argument for the final rose.

Next up, I took my talents to South Beach..(I had to.)  LeBron, a limping DWade and a still dapper and great-haired Pat Riley picked me up from the airport in LeBron’s Mom’s Hummer, I didn’t appreciate their lack of love for the ecosystem, but I was impressed.  After wining and dining me all night, the master negotiator, Riley, made his pitch on why they deserved my final rose.  The aforementioned greatest player since Jordan, LeBron James, figured out how to play as their point forward, Wade is now his Scottie Pippen, and they signed the greatest three point shooter ever, Ray Allen, while also signing Rashard Lewis, one of the most overpaid athletes of all-time, but he has one job – hit threes.  The Heat will keep playing the Oregon offense in the fast-break, while posting up LeBron and putting 4 shooters around him, not to mention they are the best defensive team in the league.  Nice job Pat.

Finally, I visited Hollywood, and you know what they say wine and women get better with age, but I’ve never heard a sports team getting better with age, the Lakers have an uphill battle for this one.  I loved the hijacking of Steve Nash from division rival, for 4 draft picks that won’t matter, giving the Lakers their first legit, Hall of Fame point guard since Magic Johnson**, but the Lakers backcourt now consists of Kobe Bryant, old, and Steve Nash, really old and Pau Gasol and Andrew Bynum didn’t give me any confidence that when the Westbrook’s and CP3’s of the world blew by them on offense that they had an interior defender to protect the rim, but then Los Angeles Lakers General Manager Mitch Kupchack got a phone call from the Orlando Magic General Manager Rob Hennigan and this was the their conversation that I overheard:

Mitch: “Go for Mitch.”

Mitch: “Wait…you just want my moody center and I get to keep Pau Gasol?”

Mitch pulls the phone away from his face and starts fist pumping like he’s Tiger Woods and he just won a major.

Mitch: “I guess I can do that, what contracts am I taking on?”

Mitch: “I’m not taking on Quentin Richardson or Hedo Turkoglu’s terrible contract?”

Mitch now starts laughing hysterically and buying shots for the group.

Mitch: “Oh yeah, I’m still here. Rob, you drive a hard bargain, but you got yourself a deal”.

So, while I’m out with the Lakers they pull off the biggest lopsided trade since he traded for Pau Gasol with a package centered around Kwame Brown (LOL). Not only that, but Dwight Howard is the perfect fit for the Lakers.  A guy that, when healthy, is the best defensive player in the NBA, doesn’t need the ball to dominate, and will gladly take alley-oops from Nash on pick-and-rolls all day.  This offseason the Lakers acquired 2 MVP’s, 3 Defensive Players of the Year, 8 All-NBA 1st teams, 16 All-Star appearances, and 1 sixth man trophy with Dwight Howard, Steve Nash, and Antawn Jamison.  Wow.

**I love what Derek Fisher did for the Lakers, but if you say he’s a HOFer you are dumb, good player but not HOF worthy.

The final decision was tough, everyone really knows how to treat a man they are trying to win over, but I had to make a final decision.  Who was my Jef with one F?! But without further ado, my favorite for the 2012-13 NBA Season and the person to get my final rose is…The Miami Heat.  The defending NBA Champions got a lot better, figured out how to play together, and have the best player in the NBA, that equals Championship for me.

Who do you think is the favorite?

-Lance Cartelli

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Basketball, Lakers, Lebron James, Miami Heat, Oklahoma City Thunder, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

