All Aboard the FGCU Bandwagon #FlyLikeAnEagle

url

I don’t have to tell you how amazing March Madness really is, but I will anyways.  It is the greatest playoff system in sports. Easily.  No doubt about it.  Where else can you root for a school you’ve never heard of beat a team that you hear entirely too much about?  We’re Americans, we love underdogs.  There was a time when we were the underdogs, alas we are far from that now, but we see a little bit of us in every mid-major school that has a ton of white boys less than stellar athletes that will never play in the NBA and when these non-athletic players demolish the dreams of the McDonald’s All-Americans, we eat that shit up.  Now, if only another college sport had been smart enough to implement this, but I digress.

The latest team to take over March Madness and captivate the millions…and millions of March Madness fans is none other than the FGCU Eagles.  No, that is not a random assortment of cool looking letters in the English alphabet.  It’s actually Florida Gulf Coast University. More importantly, they have reached a very special someone, someone that is void of having a team in the March Madness race, a man that can reach literally dozens of people through the internet and social medias.  That man is now the conductor of the FGCU Bandwagon, that man, is of course me! (or this column would suck).  Call me Conductor Cartelli of the Fly Like an Eagle Bandwagon!

#FlyLikeAnEagle

As I watched the FGCU Fly Like an Eagle all over Georgetown, I was angry.  Not only did I lose a Final Four team, I lost it to a 15 seed that I’ve never heard of, thankfully according to their name I assumed they were on the Gulf Coast.  I’m definitely smarter than Siri.  My anger didn’t last long, how can you hate a 15 seed upsetting a 2 seed?  And they did it in amusing fashion.  They were flying all over the place. They were even coined “Dunk City”.  DUNK FREAKIN’ CITY!  What a great name, I bet you $5 in Monopoly money that Blake Griffin is sitting in his Kia thinking, “Why didn’t I come up with that?  Lob City is child’s play compared to DUNK CITY?!”.  Blake, you are correct.

Since I crowned myself the Conductor of this Bandwagon, I had to learn more of this majestic place.  FGCU was established in 1991!  That makes me 4 years older then the school.  They just turned 21, I hope they are enjoying an ice cold one after these sweet victories.  According to ESPN, they are the only team to be undefeated in the NCAA Tournament! That means that 32 teams have lost more tournament games this weekend then FGCU has. Ever. FGCU motto happens to be – “Truth, Knowledge, Wisdom”.  This tournament they are dropping some major knowledge and blessing us with some wisdom, because they are the truth.

OH YEAH, THEY DANCE LIKE THIS:

FGCUDanceParty_original

POLO. SHIRT. GUY. THOUGH.

#FlyLikeAnEagle FGCU.

You know who FGCU’s second biggest fan behind me is?  SEAL. Want proof? You got it.

Seal dedicated his 1997 hit song, “Fly Like an Eagle”, from the second greatest movie soundtrack of all-time*, Space Jam to FGCU.  I should have seen the signs sooner, when Seal is dedicating songs to you and you dance like Polo Shirt Guy, how can you lose?  They are no longer a 15 seed, they are THE Seed.

**1. Garden State**

Now that they are in the Sweet 16 and take on in-state rival, the Florida Gators aka The Monstars, they have all the confidence in the world.  When those lights dim and the FGCU Anthem hits…”Fly like an eagle and let my spirit carry me…”, that spirit will have them soaring above their competitors.

#FlyLikeAnEagle FGCU, fly, fly.

– Lance Cartelli

Posted on March 24, 2013, in Basketball, Championship, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

